Posted by: nightmistwalker | April 2, 2017

The Ostara Quiche

I have started to send presents to my daughters to reflect the holidays. For this, I am grateful to all the wonderful companies which prepare, package, and deliver their products for me. My major problem is one of location. When the girls got married, found jobs and moved, they recreated my worse nightmare. Yes, I have two daughters, each of which lives on two different oceans, 3000 miles apart. Sigh!

What to do?

Long distance celebrating appears to be the answer in these modern times. My older daughter is a cookbook editor with a food adventurous husband and a 4-year-old daughter. My younger daughter is a piscatorian with a food sensitive husband and no children. Since Ostara was the most recent impending holiday, I focused on eggs.

“You are NOT sending eggs by mail, are you?” challenged my younger daughter.

“If I do, it will be in the form of quiche,” I responded.

“Ooooo, I like quiche!” she suddenly purred.

So I spent the better part of a month researching quiche gifts. Unsurprisingly, most quiche gifts are literally quiche dishes or pans. There are many quiche recipes online, also. But it was the real thing that I was after. Fortunately, there were a few companies that did indeed send quiche. My only complaint was that none of them mentioned the size of the product that I was ordering. Was I buying a 9″ quiche? 8″? 4″? I could only take a leap of faith. I left it in the Goddess’ hands and sent in the order.

It was my older daughter who responded with alacrity. “Thanks for the gift. It is in the oven now. I explained to my daughter that it was scrambled eggs pie.”

My granddaughter has a gifted sense of smell, however. (She gets that gift from my mother, not from me.) “It’s macaroni and cheese pie!” she announced happily.

“Did you serve it with macaroni?” I asked.

“No,” my daughter replied, “but one of the cheeses in the quiche is the same kind as I use for macaroni and cheese.”

Excellent sense of smell, my lovely little granddaughter! And a happy feast in two homes on the opposite sides of the country. Spring is here! Ostara rules! Balance is restored!

And thank you Harry and David for your caramelized onion and 3 cheese quiche.

Now I have to research Beltane.

Responses

  1. I have used Harry & David to solve many thorny holiday gift dilemmas. Thank you for sharing this. I never tried the quiche, but knowing many who like it I will give it a go now.

  2. So glad to have found another Harry and David fan! I hope you enjoy the quiche.


Leave a Reply

Categories

